Sonic Souvenirs is a series of portraits that takes us on an exploration of art, music and surfing with Mikey February.

Our first episode trails Mikey close to home journeying up and down the East and West coast of South Africa.

A spiritual - almost mystical visual experience with his natural environment.



Vans Presents a series of portraits with Mikey February

Episode 1 South Africa

Directed by Kai Neville 

Produced by We’re Free Radicals Cinematography Paul Daniel 16mm Cinematography Fabian Vettiger

Still Photography Alan Van Gysen

Art Direction Callum Abbott

Colourist Fergus Rotherham

Original Music by Madala Kunene and Friends Sound Design Thom Pringle



Vans Surf Team Members:

Nathan Fletcher, Joel Tudor, Dane Reynolds, Wade Goodall, Leila Hurst, Pat Gudauskas, Dane Gudauskas, Tanner Gudauskas, Nathan Florence, Dylan Graves, Ivan Florence, Alex Knost.

Back to blog